Three Lady Spartans on all-MVC golf team

A trio of Lady Spartan linksters have been named to the 2015 all-Mississippi Valley Conference girls golf team.
Senior Becca Yahnke landed a spot on the all-MVC second team, while her sister, sophomore Ginny Yahnke, landed on the honorable mention squad.
Senior Laney Sullivan was honored as well, earning a spot on the MVC’s sportsmanship squad.
Becca Yahnke finished 11th in the individual MVC standings with 32.5 points this season, while Ginny Yahnke amassed 26.5 points.
Players named to the all-MVC first team are Erin Ericson, Sydney Hubbard and Katie Chafoulias of Onalaska, Ilayna Long of Tomah, Annie Balduzzi of La Crosse Aquinas and Lydia Ryan of Holmen.
In addition to Becca Yahnke, golfers earning all-conference second team honors include Katie Tillman, Alison Krultz and Molly Larsen of Tomah, Courtney Olson of Onalaska and Emma Smith of Aquinas.
Golfers joining Ginny Yahnke on the honorable mention team are Karli Breiling and Alyssa Achenreiner of Onalaska, Isabelle Zingler of Tomah, Kaitlyn MacCharles of Aquinas and Maggie Kendhammer of La Crosse Logan-Central.
In addition to Sullivan, players on the MVC’s sportsmanship squad are Molly Larsen of Tomah, Sydney Hubbard of Onalaska, Shealyn McCoy of Aquinas, Meila Keeney of Logan-Central and Lydia Ryan of Holmen.
This season was the second in a row that Sullivan was named to the sportsmanship squad.
Ericson, who earned MVC medalist honors with a 97 points in the individual standings, was named 2015 MVC Golfer of the Year.
Onalaska’s Darren Simms was named MVC Coach of the Year, while Long earned the Sarah Mullenbach Award.
Onalaska won the 2015 MVC title with 90 points in the team standings, while Tomah finished in the runner-up slot with 73 points.
Third place went to Aquinas with 60 points, followed by Sparta in fourth with 47, Logan-Central in fifth with 30 points and Aquinas with 15 points in sixth place.

Evans Print & Media Group

1302 River Rd.
P.O. Box 252

Sparta, WI 54656-0252

Office Number: (608) 269-3186
Fax Number: (608) 269-6876